It me, plus sized bloggers, plus sized blogging, plus sized fashion, psbloggers, women's media

I’m at The Pool!

Untitled

Normal service (i.e.poorly taken outfit selfies in train station toilets) will resume here soon, but I just wanted to highlight the fact that I was featured on The Pool yesterday talking about the new River Island plus sized collection and fat fashion in general. I highly recommend you read it, if only to read about my teenage dress sense – or lack of it, as the case may be.

One of the things I’ve been struck by is the amount of people who messaged me on Twitter to say how refreshing it was to see a piece about plus-sized fashion on a women’s website. Which is both flattering and a bit depressing. As more retailers embrace this market, it’s a shame that women’s media isn’t following suit. After all, it’s not like there’s a lack of fashionable items out there (unless you’re over a size 24 which is utterly shameful.) Fat women are just as stylish (if not more so) as ‘straight’ sized women and our spending power is increasing.

Huge props to The Pool for allowing me to write for them, and I hope that this is just the first of many plus-sized fashion piece I see on there. I also hope that more outlets follow their lead. I can only speak for myself, but I’m far more likely to read and interact with fashion edits when they feature clothes than I – and my plus-sized peers – can wear.

I realise that I talk about this topic a lot, but it’s one which is very important to me. And I’m ‘lucky’. As someone who is on the smaller end of the fat spectrum, I have the luxury of being able to buy a lot from the plus-sized items put out by high street brands. So it’s vital that plus-sized women keep blogging, tweeting and pitching women’s websites and retailers about these issues. Our voices are powerful and we deserve to be heard.

Standard

Leave a Reply

