Christmas, elvi, joanna hope, look what you could have worn, metallics, Navabi, ootd, pink clove, plus sized blogging, plus sized fashion, silver

Look what you could have worn: The Silver Edition

The Silver Edition

So strictly speaking, this outfit edit isn’t eligible for everyone’s new favourite plus-sized column, look what you could have worn. But, I got a few requests on Twitter to do a silver version of this post, and I need very little excuse to go digging around the internet for amazing clothes.

Most of the items I’ve featured here are more expensive than those you’ll find in your average plus sized retailer. But I’ve chosen them all because they take risks, and dare you to break the rules that fat women so often hear when it comes to fashion.

I often get frustrated when looking at plus sized items, because it feels like they only come in two styles – a hanky hemmed, butterfly patterned bin bag, or ‘flattering’ vintage inspired dresses. It gets so tiring to hear that another major high street brand are launching a plus sized range only to see the same things again and again. Being fat doesn’t suddenly rob you of your critical faculties when it comes to getting dressed. And I know many fat women who would be prepared to pay more for fashion which encourages them to stand out from the pack. So why should we have to put up such uninspired and tired clothes? If brands really want to convince us that ‘style has no size,’ (a campaign which is already loaded why are they not putting more effort into creating fashion forward items rather than the same old thing? To quote this fantastic piece by Bethany Rutter at The Fader, “I’m living for the day when I have access to the same range of cool, daring, understated clothes as thin women, without the side-order of condescension.”

As for my choices? Well, metallics are very in at the moment and are excellent for all those Christmas parties you’ll (no doubt) be attending very soon. And I feel like I have a duty of care to ensure that every plus sized babe reading this strides forth into the festive season swathed in shiny fabrics, looking really really bloody good.

Elvi Prima Grey Sequin Bomber Jacket

Elvi Prima Grey Bomber Jacket – £119.00

Elvi’s Prima collection features some of the best plus sized clothes I’ve ever seen. It’s all just so shiny and beautiful and clever. It’s hard to pick favourites because I want pretty much all of it (which, sadly, is unlikely to happen unless I get a massive windfall in the near future.) This sequin bomber jacket is particularly lush. I’d wear this with a jumpsuit, heels and massive hair for some serious Studio 54 vibes.

Elvi Sequin Tassel Dress

Elvi Prima Sequin Tassle Dress – £129.00

I gasped with joy when I saw this, because it incorporates two of my favourite things – sequins and tassels. It is a glorious glitterball of a dress, designed to make you look and feel like your best self. Buy this to wear for those times when you go out dancing all night and snog inappropriate people in inappropriate corners at inappropriate moments.

Pink Clove Metallic Leggings

Pink Clove Metallic Leggings – £16.00

2015 has given me a whole new appreciation of leggings, so naturally I love these. Yes, they’re a bit silly, but they’re also incredibly fun. And I love the idea of wearing something which will make you look legs look like those of a disco robot, and your ass look amazing.

Joanna Hope Foil Pleated Maxi Skirt

Joanna Hope Foil Pleated Maxi Skirt – £65.00

I’m not the biggest fan of maxi skirts, but I’m prepared to make an exception for this one. It’s a real statement piece that you can make as simple or as fancy as you like. I’d happily wear this to the office with a black t-shirt and a chunky belt, but I could also see it going well with an elegant beaded top and simple silver jewellery.

navabi Sequin Pearl Embellished Pencil Dress

navabi Sequin Pearl Embellished Pencil Dress – £227.90

Lets all take a moment here to stop what we’re doing and revel in the glory of this dress. Isn’t it magnificent? It’s just the kind of thing that a chub flapper girl would wear while bobbing her hair and necking champagne. While it’s not the most original dress I’ve ever seen, it’s certainly one of the more interesting pieces I’ve seen in a plus sized collection. So, huge props to navabi here for making something which is beautiful, luxe and daring, and which goes all the way up to a size 30 (which, sadly, is a rarity.)

Want to see what you could have worn? I’m taking requests! If you’ve seen an outfit feature in a magazine or newspaper recently, and would like to see a plus sized version, drop me a line! 

Standard

2 thoughts on “Look what you could have worn: The Silver Edition

Leave a Reply

