Charlotte Tilbury, Collectif, lipstick, Outfit post, outfits, pin-up girl, psbloggers, retro, Sleek, Tatty Devine, vintage, wiwt

Hello Sailor!

My brother turned 30 this week, a fact which I am trying to ignore as it makes me feel incredibly old. It doesn’t feel like that much time has passed since we were kids and hitting each other over the head with plates because we’d watched too much Reeves and Mortimer.

To celebrate this momentous occasion, my family decided to visit our favourite cheap Lebanese restaurant and eat a metric ton of hummus. What better reason to wear a slightly-too-big-for-me swing skirt emblazoned with lobsters and star fish?

Full body selfie 1 Full body selfie 2

Bolero cardigan: Collectif

Top: Collectif

Swing skirt: Collectif

Head scarf: Vintage

Earrings: Topshop

Necklace: Tatty Devine

Shoes: Primark

Rock lobster

                                                         Rock lobster

I bought this Collectif skirt in their huge sale over the summer, and I simply adore it. It’s just so swishy and fun, plus it contains satisfyingly deep pockets. You can shove everything from lipsticks to corkscrews to hip flasks in there and they’ll barely make a dent. Collectif’s sizing can be a bit odd, so I sized up. While it turns out that I probably didn’t need to (which is a good guide for any swing skirts I intend to buy from them in the future), it does mean that this skirt is satisyingly roomy, meaning that you can eat a shed load of food while wearing it without feeling as though your stomach is going to erupt from acid reflux.

Most of all, I love this outfit because it’s so me. It’s comfy and makes me feel as cute as a button. I do wish more plus sized retailers would make swing skirts like this one. They’re just so great to wear and suit pretty much everyone.

1975 Red

I decided to break out my new Charlotte Tilbury 1975 Red for the occasion. It’s such a great lipstick – a coral red which comes in some of the most beautiful packaging I’ve seen. However, I feel that it makes me look a bit washed out. While I love it, it’s a shade which may have suited me better when I had red hair.

Russian Revolution

Praise be then to Sleek’s Russian Roulette. I raved about this budget lipstick in my last post, but seriously – this stuff is the bees knees. A combination of that and some seriously good Autumnal lighting led to me taking my best selfie in months (despite me being in the throes of a cracking hangover.) When a lippy can do that and only costs £4.99, it’s got to have some magical properties that aren’t listed on the label.

Standard

2 thoughts on “Hello Sailor!

Leave a Reply

