ASOS Curve, Autumn, coats, Lists, Marks and Spencer, Navabi, plus sized bloggers, plus sized blogging, plus sized fashion, Simply Be, Studio 8

Let’s talk coats

Five coats I love

The Autumn equinox has been and gone, so it’s safe to say that we’re now in coat season. This is no bad thing, because coats are awesome. There are few greater pleasures than snuggling down into a warm coat on a cold day. I see them as being the final element of a really good outfit – that killer piece that can turn an ensemble from meh to wow.  

As you can probably tell, I own a lot of coats. So many in fact, that I had to get the door I was hanging them on rehung because their combined weight had caused it to come off its hinges. I should probably keep my joiner (and my bank) on speed dial considering that I’ve seen many more beautiful coats this season that I can’t wait to get my chubby little hands on. Here are five of my favourites.

ASOS Curve Midi Coat with Faux Fur Collar

ASOS CURVE Midi Coat with Faux Fur Collar – £100

I was a teenager in the late 1990s, and spent most of that period swathed in fake fur and glitter. So, naturally, I love this coat. It looks like something my 15 year old self would throw on before heading out to a Suede gig. ASOS are masters of rich, red Autumnal tones and the colour of this is absolutely divine. And then, there’s that collar. It’s so unapologetically, obnoxiously huge. To paraphrase Mean Girls, I bet it’s full of secrets.

M&S Double Face Unstructured Coat with Wool

Marks & Spencer Double Face Unstructured Coat with Wool – £69.00

Marks and Spencer are absolutely killing it this season. I went into their Manchester branch recently with my sister, and we spent an alarming amount of time running around squealing at all the beautiful items on their shelves. One of the stand out pieces was this duster coat. I’m always slightly wary of duster coats. They look so good on other people, but they always hang oddly on my body and make me look bulky. However, I bought this little number the other day, and it’s fantastic. It’s incredibly elegant and – best of all for a pack horse like me – has really deep pockets for you to keep all your crap in. It’s the perfect thing to wear to work, as it goes so well over a simple, neutral outfit.

Marina Rinaldi Short Checkered Wool Blend Coat

Persona by Marina Rinaldi Short Checkered Wool Blend Coat – £298.00

I need someone to give me lots of money so I can buy this. I mean, look at it. It is such a good shape, and you just know that wearing it is going to be incredibly comforting. It’s a proper business bitch coat, a piece to wear when you’re striding through the city looking and feeling like your best self. Best of all, you can dress it up or down – I’d imagine that it looks just as good worn with a pair of jeans as it would with a pencil skirt and roll neck (my Autumn/Winter 2015 uniform.)

Simple Be Padded Fur Trim Hooded Coat

Simply Be Padded Fur Trim Hooded Coat – £55.00

I’ve been really disappointed by coats I’ve bought from Simply Be in the past, but I may give them a second chance for this one. It’s a little more casual than the kind of thing I’d usually wear, but that’s no bad thing. I can imagine throwing it on before going for a long walk on the beach near my house, or when I just want something to wear with some jeans and a massive jumper. And we all need a fur trimmed hood to hide in when life gets on top of us.

Studio 8 Nicole Mac

Studio 8 Nicole Mac – £135.00

I fell in love with this coat when I saw Bethany wearing it. I’ve been looking for the perfect mac for ages, and this fits the bill. It is just so chic. I’ve found a lot of mackintoshes difficult to wear, as when I do them up, they give me the dreaded ‘shelf tit’ effect. However, this one appears to have been designed with busty girls like myself in mind. Unfortunately though, it only comes in white which is a bit of a nightmare for someone like me who just delights in tipping food/coffee/croissant crumbs down herself.

What coat are you currently coveting? Let me know in the comments!

Standard

Leave a Reply

