1970s, Alice & You, ASOS Curve, long line dresses, look what you could have worn, Modcloth, Monki, outfits, plus sized bloggers, plus sized fashion, Simply Be

Look What You Could Have Worn: Elle’s long dresses edit

Look What You Could Have WornSo, I’ll admit that I was slightly taken aback by how well received the last ‘Look What You Could Have Worn’ was. While Emerald Street never did respond to my questions as to why they didn’t add plus sized options to their clothing picks (Hiya guys!) it made me even more determined in my goal to show that fat women want a more size inclusive media. While I love seeing fashion editorials in magazines aimed towards the plus sized community (such as Slink and Volup2), I don’t want our clothing, politics and style to just be shoved away into one corner of the internet.

Which brings me to Elle. I rarely read Elle, because it is a magazine which is very much not aimed at (fat) women like me. I’ve always viewed it as being one of those media outlets which will occasionally pay lip service to plus sized women by featuring a size 18 model every now and then (always toned, and always with a flat stomach of course), but never shows us clothes which we can actually wear. But, this month they were giving away an ASOS 20% gift card with every issue, and I am a sucker for discounted pencil skirts and heeled sandals and…I think you know where this is going.

There’s a great editorial in there showing a number of ways to style long dresses (page 158 – 162 if you’re interested.) Longer, 70s-style dresses look set to be a huge trend this Autumn/Winter season, and I for one cannot wait to float around in them while pretending to be Stevie Nicks. Here’s five of my favourites.

Alice and You Patchwork Print Maxi Dress

Alice & You Patchwork Print Lace Up Maxi Dress (£42.00)

This dress is like a magic eye picture. When I first saw it, I thought it was hideous. But the more I look at it, the more I like it. It’s a great mix of different types of print, and as 70s as a glam rock record. However, this is an item which could very easily veer into fancy dress territory, so I’d wear it with simple accessories and a pair of ankle boots, otherwise it could look a little OTT.

ASOS Curve Maxi Dress in Knitted 70's chevron

ASOS Curve Maxi Dress in Knitted 70’s Chevron (£42.00)

This looks like something my (remarkably stylish) Mum would have worn around Florida in the 70s. It’s casual enough to wear to work, but dressy enough to wear out to dinner afterwards. I’d team this with a belted long-line coat and heeled sandals (or a pair of wooden clogs.) Elle says that wearing ankle-tie sandals will help draw attention to your lovely slim ankles, but if people are looking at those instead of you while you’re wearing this dress, tell them to shove off.

Ilva dress Monki

Monki Ilva Dress (£30.00)

While Monki doesn’t do a plus-sized range, their sizing is remarkably generous and their larger sizes tend to easily fit us chubs. I’m a huge fan of their clothing, and this is my favourite dress of the bunch. It’s less dressy than the others, but I love the shape and the pattern is superb. It’s the kind of casual dress I’d throw on with a pair of brogues or Dr. Martens before heading out to the pub.

Modcloth Fiore Your Entertainment Dress in Floral

Modcloth Fiore Your Entertainment in Flora ($99.00/£63.00)

Modcloth’s stuff continues to be great, as does their range of sizing (their stuff goes all the way up to 4XL – the only retailer I’ve ever seen do this.) The only downside is the shipping costs from the USA, so I’d recommend clubbing together with a friend on an order so it doesn’t cost mega bucks. This little number is delightfully floaty, and would look fantastic worn with some knee high suede boots. I’d also add a slim brown belt to give it a bit of shape and contrast.

Simply Be Printed Long Line Shirt Dress

Simply Be Printed Long Line Shirt Dress (£45.00)

When Simply Be get a trend right, they get it right. Their new collection contains a whole heap of 70s inspired gems (think lots of suede, lots of fringing and lots of fake fur), but this dress totally stood out to me. The bold paisley print is just fantastic, and I’m dying to wear this out and about with a giant afghan coat while pretending to be Angie Bowie.

Will you be wearing long line dresses this Autumn? Which ones are your favourites? Let me know in the comments!

Standard

Leave a Reply

