Collectif, Outfit post, outfits, Plus sized, plus sized bloggers, tattoo, Tatty Devine

A Stroke of Genius

In a fit of 2002-inspired nostalgia, I went to see The Strokes in Hyde Park with my friend Bethany last Thursday. While Julian Casablancas’s hair, £5.50 pints and men announcing loudly that they had sore genitalia left a lot to be desired, I had a great time dancing around to music which reminded me of being younger, skinter and stupider. I also looked banging (even if I do say so myself).

A stroke of genius

TOP: Collectif

SKIRT: Primark

SHOES: Primark

NECKLACE: Tatty Devine

Christina tattoos

The good weather also provided me with the perfect opportunity to rock out with my tats out. When I was younger (and a lot less confident about my size than I am now), I always felt wary about getting my upper arms out in public because they were so pale and chubby. However, as time has gone on – and they’ve become increasingly covered with tattoos – I’ve learned to not to give a toss about what people think about them. It turns out that when you get a giant ‘Sink or Swim’ badge inked onto your bicep, passers by tend to pay more attention to that than the fat it’s emblazoned on.

While I’m not yet entirely at a place where I love my upper arms as much as other parts of my body, it’s a constant process. The more I get them out in the public, the more I learn to appreciate them, how good they look and how much they can do. These are arms that repeatedly lift a heavy suitcase above my head on trains after all, why shouldn’t I be wowed by them? Plus, wonderful pieces like this one in Bustle help me to appreciate just how bad ass bare armed fat women can look. While there’s lots of legitimate reasons why women feel uncomfortable bearing their arms, a bit of chub shouldn’t be one of them.

Both of these photos can also be seen on this post at the Simply Be blog.

Standard

Leave a Reply

