1950S, ASOS, Collectif, Lindy Bop, Outfit post, Plus sized, plus sized fashion, Vivien of Holloway, Wedding

Start Wearing Purple

If there’s one thing my family like, it’s a wedding. After all, it’s the perfect excuse to get dressed up AND get drunk. What’s not to love? So, when my brother Daniel got married to his wonderful fiancee Kathy at Manchester Town Hall last Saturday, it was bound to be one hell of a party. I was honoured to be asked to be a bridesmaid, along with my sister  Charlotte, and Kathy’s sister, Karen, and we carried out our duties with aplomb. We danced, we drank prosecco, we cried and (most importantly), we all looked really bloody good.

What a bunch of beauts, eh?

What a bunch of beauts, eh?

Bridesmaids

Kathy kindly told us that we could choose our own dresses, so long as they were purple. While it’s a bit of a cop-out for a fat woman to wear something in a 50s style when she wants to dress up (seriously plus sized designers, we’re not all femme!) I wanted to wear something simple yet swishy – if only so I could swirl around pretending to be Kate Bush in the Wuthering Heights video at some point during the wedding disco.

This ‘Grace’ dress from Lindy Bop was adorable without being too fussy (even if I’m not a huge fan of the black piping on it.) Plus, it has just the right amount of stretch to accommodate my mega boobs. You may laugh, but this is no mean feat.

Picture by Claire Legg Photography

Picture by Claire Legg Photography

DRESS: Lindy Bop

CARDIGAN: Collectif

PETTICOAT: Vivien of Holloway

SHOES: ASOS

EARRINGS: Etsy (vintage)

Doesn’t my make-up look good too? Praise be to professional make-up artists, MAC’S Russian Red and the dark arts of contoring. There’s something a bit gutting in the knowledge that this is the best I’m probably going to look all year. Maybe I should just wear false eyelashes more often.

Picture by Claire Legg Photography

Picture by Claire Legg Photography

A charming picture of me and my sister

A charming picture of me and my sister

Picture by Claire Legg Photography

Picture by Claire Legg Photography

It was a wonderful, beautiful day, and I was so happy to be a part of it. Congratulations Dan and Kathy. Here’s to many many years of happiness.

Picture by Claire Legg Photography

Picture by Claire Legg Photography

 Many of the pictures in this post were taken by the amazing wedding photographer Claire Legg. 

Standard

Leave a Reply

