About me

Hello

Christina McMc

For the past few years, I’ve been writing a food blog. Then, at some point last year, I fell out of love with blogging. Partly, this is due to the fact that I’m lucky enough to have a career which involves me talking about food on the internet for money, and writing about restaurants and recipes on my blog (when I could be watching Broad City instead)  just felt too much like work. Also, I just wanted to blog about more elements of my life than simply what I was having for my dinner.

As an immensely greedy person, food will always play an incredibly important role in my life (seriously, I have a giant rolling pin tattoo on my right arm in case you doubted my commitment to this.) But I’m also incredibly vain, and have long wanted to start my own fashion blog showcasing my outfits, lipstick choices and collection of oversized necklaces. I briefly started a Tumblr with this lofty aim last year, then I got annoyed because I was trying to write two blogs when I could barely be arsed putting the effort into one, and because fiddling about with Tumblr is the worst. I have neither the time or patience for that nonsense.

On a more personal note, I am a 30 (something) fat woman, and many people tend not to view us too kindly. It’s getting a bit depressing listening to the news each day and hearing that fat people are destroying the NHS because we’re worse than ISIS. Fat is a radical issue, and while I’m inspired each and every day by a huge range of fantastic, amazing, inspiring fat babes, I’ve decided (for better or for worse) that 2015 is the year I speak up that little bit louder. Documenting the outfits I wear and the food I eat is my way of acting out, as well as showing that plus sized women over the age of 30 can do yoga, eat kale and wear leopardprint while looking totally bitchin’.

Food, fashion…and a little bit extra. Welcome to Kitkeen.*

*The name’s my childhood nickname btw in case you were wondering.

Standard

Leave a Reply

